NIH announces five new CTSAs, adds coordinating center

Clinical and Translational Science Awards logo

The National Institutes of Health today announced five new Clinical and Translational Science Awards to accelerate scientific discoveries into treatments for patients.

Administered by the National Center for Research Resources, these 2011 grants extend the CTSA consortium to 30 states and the District of Columbia. With these most recent awards, the NIH is funding 60 CTSA institutions.

The five new institutions are:

  • Pennsylvania State University, Milton S. Hershey Medical Center, Hershey;
  • University of California, Los Angeles;
  • University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City;
  • University of Kentucky, Lexington; and
  • University of Minnesota, Twin Cities.

For more information, see the NIH news release.

In addition, the NIH has awarded the Vanderbilt University Medical Center with a five-year, $20 million grant to encourage and facilitate collaboration, sharing and interaction among the CTSAs, as well as with other NIH-funded institutions and organizations.