The University of Florida-Florida State University Clinical and Translational Science Award (UF-FSU CTSA) hub is committed to open, participatory processes for gathering input from its constituents regarding ways to improve clinical and translational science and making decisions regarding priorities and resource allocations.

An exterior shot of the CTRB in midday

UF CTSI and UF-FSU CTSA hub governance groups consist of leading scientists, community members, trainees, program directors and other participants in the advancement of clinical and translational science at the University of Florida and Florida State University. Each group meets regularly to review input, consider recommendations and make decisions regarding next steps for the UF CTSI.

UF-FSU CTSA Hub Governing Board

The purpose of the UF-FSU CTSA Hub Governing Board is to:

  • Appoint and evaluate the leadership of the UF-FSU CTSA hub;
  • Secure financial commitment from the university and academic health center to the CTSI;
  • Approve the institute’s strategic and financial plans and support alignment of the strategic plans and processes of UF, UF Health, the UF CTSI, and Florida State University;
  • Ensure institutional support, remove barriers to progress and serve as a resource to leadership in support of informed and effective decision making, institutional engagement and change management.

CTSI Steering Committee

The CTSI Steering Committee meets monthly to develop strategic direction for the institute. Members include program directors, health system leaders, community representatives, and scientific leaders.

Linda Cottler

chair | steering committee

Linda Cottler, PhD

Director | UF Healthstreet | Dean’s Professor | Department of Epidemiology | UF College of Medicine | UF College of Public Health and Health Professions | Associate Dean for Research | UF College of Public Health and Health Professions | President-Elect | Association for Clinical and Translational Science

UF-FSU CTSA Hub External Advisory Committee

The purpose of the UF-FSU CTSA Hub External Advisory Committee (EAC) is to:

  • Serve as an external advisory board to the UF CTSI and leadership at UF and FSU;
  • Critically review all aspects of the UF-FSU CTSA hub, from administration to development and implementation of the research and training goals;
  • Visit UF CTSI annually to evaluate and advise all programs, services, goals and direction;
  • Provide written evaluation of the progress of the UF-FSU CTSA hub, identifying current strengths and weaknesses of the program and recommending corrective actions.

Cornell University

Rainu Kaushal, MD

Director, Center for Healthcare Informatics and Policy; Executive Director, Health Information Technology Evaluation Collaborative (HITEC) | Weill Cornell Medical College

Rainu Kaushal

Case Western reserve university

Clara Pelfrey, PhD

Evaluation Director, Clinical and Translational Science Collaborative Center for Clinical Investigation | Case Western Reserve University

Clara Pelfrey

Executive Committee

Name Title
Jiang Bian, PhD Professor and Co-Director, Biomedical Informatics
Linda Cottler, PhD, MPH Associate Dean for Research and Dean’s Professor, UF College of Public Health Professions and UF College of Medicine
LaWanna Duncan, MEd Chief Financial Administrator, CTSI
E. Mendy Dunn, MSN, RN Chief Operating Officer, CTSI
Faheem Guirgis, MD, FACEP KL Program Director; Associate Professor; Program Director, Emergency Medicine And Acute Care Research Fellowship
Stephen Kimmel, MD, MSCE Co-Director, KL2 and TWD; Professor, College of Public Health and Health Professions
Christiaan Leeuwenburgh, PhD Co-Director, KL2; Professor, College of Medicine
Mei Liu, PhD Associate Professor and Co-Director Biomedical Informatics
Chris McCarty, PhD Chair, Department of Anthropology, UF College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Wayne T. McCormack, PhD Distinguished Scholar and Professor,Department of Pathology, Immunology and Laboratory Medicine; TL1 Program Director

We value your input

Contact Us

Please consider participating by sharing your thoughts, your talent, your effort.