The UF CTSI is committed to open, participatory processes for gathering input from its constituents regarding ways to improve clinical and translational science and making decisions regarding priorities and resource allocations.

CTSI governance groups consist of leading scientists, community members, trainees, program directors and other participants in the advancement of clinical and translational science at the University of Florida. Each group meets regularly to review input, consider recommendations and make decisions regarding next steps for the UF CTSI.

We value your input. Please consider participating by sharing your thoughts, your talent, your effort. Drop us a note at

CTSI Governing Board

The purpose of the CTSI Governing Board is to:

  • Appoint and evaluate the leadership of the CTSI;
  • Secure financial commitment from the university and academic health center to the CTSI;
  • Approve the institute’s strategic and financial plans and support alignment of the strategic plans and processes of UF, UF Health and UF CTSI;
  • Ensure institutional support and remove barriers to progress and serve as a resource to CTSI leadership in support of informed and effective decision making, institutional engagement and change management.

For further information contact Brian Sevier, Chief Operating Officer, UF CTSI, at or call 352-273-8700.

David Norton, PhDUF Vice President for Research
Gary K. Ostrander, PhDFSU Vice President for Research
Adrian Tyndall, MD Interim Dean, UF College of Medicine
John P. Fogarty, MDDean, FSU College of Medicine
Julie Johnson, PharmDDean, UF College of Pharmacy
Michael Perri, MD, ABPPDean, UF College of Public Health and Health Professions
David R. Nelson, MDUF Senior Vice President for Health Affairs; President, UF Health
Duane A. Mitchell, MD, PhDDirector, UF CTSI, Principal Investigator, UF-FSU CTSA hub
Elizabeth Shenkman, PhDProfessor and Chair, UF Department of Health Outcomes & Biomedical Informatics
Co-director, CTSI

CTSI Steering Committee

The CTSI Steering Committee meets monthly to develop strategic direction for the institute. Members include program directors, health system leaders, community representatives, and scientific leaders.

The Steering Committee is chaired by Dr. Linda Cottler.

Russell M. Bauer, PhDProfessor of Clinical and Health Psychology, UF College of Public Health and Health Professions
Shirley BloodworthCitizen Scientist
Olveen Carrasquillo, MD, MPHProfessor of Medicine and Public Health Sciences, University of Miami
Michael J. Clare-Salzler, MDChair of Pathology, Immunology and Laboratory Medicine, UF College of Medicine
Irvin PeDro Cohen, EdDUF CTSI Community Advisory Board and First Coast YMCA
Linda B. Cottler, Ph.D., MPHAssociate Dean for Research and Dean’s Professor, UF College of Public Health and Health Professions and UF College of Medicine
Michael Gutter, PhDAssociate Dean for Extension, UF Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences
William Hogan, MD, MSProfessor of Health Outcomes and Biomedical Informatics, UF College of Medicine
Peter Iafrate, PharmDUF Institutional Review Boards
Jeff Joyce, PhDSenior Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs, Florida State University College of Medicine
Debra Lyon, PhD, RNExecutive Associate Dean, UF College of Nursing
Wayne McCormack, PhDProfessor of Pathology, Immunology and Laboratory Medicine, UF College of Medicine
Duane A. Mitchell, MD, PhDUF CTSI Director, Principal Investigator, UF-FSU CTSA hub
Marcelle Nascimento, DDS, PhDAssociate Professor of Restorative Dental Sciences, UF College of Dentistry
Thomas A. Pearson, MD, MPH, PhDDirector, UF MD-PhD Program
Professor of Epidemiology and Medicine
College of Public Health and Health Professions/College of Medicine
Carl Pepine, MDProfessor of Cardiovascular Medicine, UF College of Medicine
Michael Perri, PhDDean, UF College of Public Health and Health Professions
Mobeen Rathore, MBBS (MD)Associate Chair of Pediatrics, UF College of Medicine-Jacksonville
Temple O. Robinson, MDCEO, Bond Community Health Center, Inc
Desmond Schatz, MDAssociate Chair of Pediatrics, UF College of Medicine
Diana Wilkie, PhD, RN, FAANProfessor of Biobehavioral Nursing Science, UF College of Nursing
John Wingard, MDDeputy Director, UF Health Cancer Center

External Advisory Committee

The purpose of the UF CTSI External Advisory Committee (EAC) is to:

  • Serve as an external advisory board to the UF CTSI and UF leadership;
  • Critically review all aspects of the UF CTSI, from administration to development and implementation of the research and training goals;
  • Visit UF CTSI annually to evaluate and advise all programs, services, goals and direction;
  • Provide written evaluation of the progress of the CTSI, identifying current strengths and weaknesses of the program and recommending corrective actions.

For further information contact Brian Sevier, Chief Operating Officer, UF CTSI, at or call 352-273-8700.

Irvin PeDro CohenYMCA of Florida’s First Coast
Milton Eder, PhDUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Peter J. Embi, MD, MS, FACP, FACMIThe Ohio State University
Tesheia Johnson, MBA, MHSYale University
Muin KhouryCenters for Disease Control and Prevention
Elizabeth KidderDeputy Secretary for Medicaid, Agency for Health Care Administration, State of Florida
Brad Pollock, PhD, MPHUniversity of California, Davis
Ralph Sacco, MDUniversity of Miami
Albert W. Wu, MD, MPH, FACPJohns Hopkins University